Not Your Grandfather’s New Balance

Ten years ago, if I were to mention “New Balance,” the first thing that would pop into someone’s head would be this type of image

They became known as the shoe for dads all over America. This idea trickled all the way down to their performance running shoes as well. While not historically known for any superior innovations in athletic shoes, they could always be counted on for solid products that were competitive and would last. A large part of this came from their insistence to do as much of their manufacturing as possible in the United States, where quality could be insured, albeit at a higher cost.

New Balance seemed to lose a step in the early 2000s while other brands were becoming lighter, faster, and overall just better. The running shoes being produced by New Balance were heavier, clunkier, and just did not feel as good as comparable shoes being produced by other brands. This lead to several years of declining sales.

Enough was enough. Executives decided that they needed to get back in the running game, so they scraped most of their designers and started fresh. They wanted to become relevant, and they were a big enough company to be able to support the department for some time while they developed their ideas and technologies. It was a big gamble to start over, but they were not disappointed.

New Balance has taken back its rightful place in the ring against brands like Brooks, Saucony, and, yes, even Nike. They make some of the lightest shoes on the market and they continually make improvements to stay one step ahead of the game. Fresh Foam is their latest technological development that is putting a new spin on how companies develop and produce running shoes. Using 3D Printing technology, they have developed the Boracay and the soon-to-be-released and highly anticipated Zante.

Personally, I cannot wait to get my hands on a pair.

10 thoughts on “Not Your Grandfather’s New Balance

  1. Its cool to see a business this company redesigning their style and shoes to fit their target audience. This shows you have accommodate for your target audience to keep them happy.

    Like

  2. This is a great article! I never thought New Balance was very relevant until I read this article. I also love the fact that New Balance is tapping into the 3D printing technology!

    Like

  3. I think it is great that New Balance brought their game back to the market! They realized that their customers wanted lighter and faster shoes and they turned their market around just to be able to provide their target audience with the product they wanted. I would love to try a pair of the new New Balance shoes.

    Like

  4. I am a girl who very much likes shoes, so next time I go shopping I may have to try a pair of New Balance shoes. This is business at its finest. A company realized their competitors were ahead of the game and customers wanted something different so they changed their image and product and now are able to compete with the top of the market.

    Like

  5. When I was in high school, I actually wore New Balance shoes regularly, unknowing of the fact that they were known as the shoe for dads (laughs). This is a very interesting blog and it is good to see that New Balance has changed its image.

    Like

  6. I was a runner in high school and never really noticed anybody who wore New Balance running shoes. Maybe if I were to look now it would be different since they have made all these changes to their brand. Great post!

    Like

  7. This article really makes me want to look into New Balance shoes. I’ve tried Nikes and many other running shoes but had never thought about trying New Balance because of the “old grampa shoe” image I had on the brand.

    Like

  8. I really like your article title, it attracts me to continue reading, After reading this blog, I found that New Balance had a good enterprise transformation. It’s no longer “old.”

    Like

Leave a comment